Jonas Maines in “The Bald Soprano”

The Bald Soprano was without a doubt, the most interesting play I’ve seen. Right from the beginning, I was laughing about the extended clock bells and lack of talking, then laughing at Keith’s (I don’t remember his last name), clicking of his tongue as his response to everything his wife said. It’s interesting though, I was laughing, the girl beside me was laughing, but my boyfriend (on the other side of me), had a completely solemn face. I don’t think he laughed once. It made me think of the conversation we had in class about the different audiences one will experience when seeing the show, but I didn’t realize how polar opposite the two were, until they were both directly beside me. When I read the play, I didn’t find much humor in it, and to be honest, I thought it was kind of dumb and pointless. I went into the show thinking it would be the same way, and I would have wasted $5 and 53 minutes of my Friday night. Boy, was I wrong.

I left the theatre confused as to what I just watched. My boyfriend said, “there’s no point” but that’s not an acceptable answer in my book. The girl beside me said this was her second time seeing the performance, and she said she understood it more after the second time. My friend, Jonas Maines, played the fire chief, which I found to be one of the most interesting roles in the play (the maid being my favorite). I couldn’t help but wonder what he thought about the play, and what he had to say about it, so out of curiosity on how the actors may feel about this bizarre play, I thought I would ask him a few questions about The Bald Soprano. 

Q1: What do you think the plot of The Bald Soprano is

Jonas: The Bald Soprano is an absurdist comedy that mocks and satirizes stiff upper class societal customs.

Q2: What made you want to play the part of the fire chief?

Jonas: I think the fire chief has this unwavering coolness about him, nothing can shake him. I think that is some of the funniest comedy, when something should get to a character and he isn’t affected at all.

Q3: Has your impression of the play changed since you first read/heard it and when you acted in it?

Jonas: I think that The Bald Soprano is a play that evolves as you go through the process- actors discover new moments, as a cast we find moments that we hadn’t noticed before, and I think in a play where there are so many crazy and out there lines, it is really easy to find a lot of those moments.

Q4: What’s your favorite part of the play?

Jonas: My personal favorite part of the play is probably the doorbell scene, because it is so obviously a play on the customs related to having a good house party, or rather in this case, being a good host. I think it is a moment that a lot of people can relate to, it is a really simple thing but I think that is what makes it so good.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

